COVID-19 Operations and Learning Plan

Wiseburn COVID-19 safety

Guiding Principle

Wiseburn is first and foremost committed to the safety of our students, staff, and community. Safe operations in the time of COVID-19 allow us to fulfill our mission of engaging, empowering, and elevating our students in their learning and life.

Wiseburn's Return to In-Person Instruction

Wiseburn COVID-19 Dashboard

Los Angeles County Tier:

SUBSTANTIAL

Wiseburn must follow all directives from the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health and the state of California.

Since September 2020, the District has had a total of 11 COVID-19 cases of individuals who have physically been on school grounds, but the District has not had an outbreak on our campuses (meaning, on-site transmission has not occurred).

Schools may not reopen fully for in-person instruction while in the Widespread (purple) tier. Because of this, we are currently unable to fully reopen for in-person learning for general education. In our COVID-19 Dashboard, learn more about the current status of the COVID-19 spread in Los Angeles County and what that means for school reopening efforts.

Engaged Education Plan

Our mission is always to provide a safe, orderly environment focused on the academic, social, and physical needs of the whole child while emphasizing community participation — no matter our current operating conditions.

Until the pandemic is no longer a threat to the health and safety of our community, Wiseburn will operate in either a distance learning or hybrid model of instruction.

Health and Safety

In the midst of a global pandemic, our priority is the physical and mental wellbeing of our students, staff, and community. Our Health and Safety planning revolves around that priority.
Wiseburn COVID-19 safety
Wiseburn's Health and Safety Protocols

Wiseburn USD's all-encompassing health and safety plan draws on the best practices and recommendations of our local health district and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in order to maintain the health and safety of our students, staff, families, and community at large. In this guide, you'll find our plans for safe and healthy practices for in-person services and learning.

Parent Guide to Reopening Schools for 2020-2021
Staff Guide to Reopening Schools for 2020-2021

COVID-19 External Safety Resources

For the most up-to-date, accurate health and safety information about the novel coronavirus, visit:

FAQs

Contact

Once we have returned to campus: to notify Wiseburn of a possible or positive COVID-19 test, please immediately contact the district's COVID-19 safety officer, Nisha Dugal, via email at ndugal@wiseburn.org.

If you have inquiries related to specific school sites (such as email lists, schedules, enrollment, and specific school plans and procedures), please reach out directly to your individual school site secretary:

Juan de Anza Elementary School: Susan Castellanos (scastellanos@wiseburn.org)
138th Street School: Kristian Forte-Hill (kforte@wiseburn.org)
Juan Cabrillo Elementary School: Laura Nilsson (lnilsson@wiseburn.org)
Dana Middle School: Sarah Moulton (smoulton@wiseburn.org)


If you have questions about our Preschool Enrichment and Extended Day Program, please contact our Site Supervisor for Preschool/Child Development Center, Karen Chapkhaneh, via email at kchapkhaneh@wiseburn.org.


If you are looking to connect with our Counseling and Access to Resources in Education (CARE) Team, please contact either Ms. Julie Walker (jwalker@wiseburn.org) or Dr. Monique Ingram (mingram@wiseburn.org).


If you have questions or comments about district communications, such as our monthly or COVID-19 Dashboard newsletters or superintendent updates, send an email to communication@wiseburn.org.